PDA

View Full Version : ROH: The Twilight View

Travicity
11-30-2010, 12:34 AM
The Twilight View
by Greg H.

Hi! My name is Gregh. I am a long time wrestling fan as well as a long time ROH fan dating back to the beginnings in 2003. I have been invited to do a semi-regular column here and I have decided to accept. Since most of you don’t have a clue who I am allow me to tell you a little about myself. I am a truly veteran fan of wrestling having watched my first match on TV in 1955 watching a program called Wrestling from Washington. I was a mere 5 years old at the time and I was somewhat startled and impressed to see the dastardly Hard-Boiled Haggertry doing terrible things to his opponent. I remember guys like Antonina Rocca and Eduard Carpentier as the good guys of the day and then there was the tag-team called the Fabulous Kangeroos who pretty much beat ever tag-team of the era. It was probably at about age ten that I became really hooked on wrestling whereupon I pretty much had to watch every wrestling program on TV. I have been a devoted wrestling fan ever since. What I would like to do in this column is bridge the past with the present and offer some of my wrestling experiences and views over the last 55 years. In doing so I hope to relate to that my later experiences with ROH where my undying devotion to the sport reached new levels. What I would like to do in each column is offer a taste of the past as well as a taste of the present. It is my longevity as a fan that makes me somewhat unique but understand that being a longtime wrestling fan is something that I am neither proud of nor ashamed of. Why should I be? Wrestling is one of my favorite recreations but I do have lots others. Each of us as individuals has the right to choose our recreations and my view on that score is if you enjoy it and aren’t hurting anyone then go for it and indulge yourself with your choices and don’t let others rain on your parade. I am a supporter of the idea of respecting othe