PDA

View Full Version : On faith, identity and why Michael McDonald doesn't care about UFC titles

Konan
02-12-2013, 07:22 PM
A weird thing happened during my phone interview with Michael McDonald.

We were talking about his fight against Renan Barao at the UFC on FUEL TV 7 event this weekend, and I asked him what he thought this fight was really for. No offense to Barao here, but an interim UFC bantamweight title isn't exactly the real thing, and we all know it. The real thing is at home with Dominick Cruz, waiting for his knee to feel better. The interim belt is kind of like a token, something you can exchange for a shot at the real thing at a later date.

So what are they fighting over? The right to be called interim champion, whatever that means? The right to fight Cruz? A big pile of money? What?

"It's hard for me to say," McDonald told MMAjunkie.com (www.mmajunkie.com). "I'll say that, for me, the fight is for my job, same as any other fight. It's how I make my living and how I can hopefully provide a future for my family. I don't care about a title. I don't care who it is or where it is, none of that. That doesn't concern me. All that concerns me is fighting and making money."

It's kind of a weird thing to say right before a UFC title fight, interim or otherwise. Doing these pre-fight phoners, you come to expect certain stock answers, occasionally repackaged in semi-interesting ways. One thing you take for granted is that every fighter you talk to wants to become (or remain) the champion. That's the goal, right?

"That is not the goal for me," McDonald said. "I don't care about it whatsoever."