PDA

View Full Version : Gerald Hirschfeld Dies: ‘Young Frankenstein’ & ‘Fail-Safe’ Lensman Was 95

LG
02-20-2017, 01:11 AM
http://tu9srvbirvvtocrpbwctcy1tc24ty29tlmfryw1haxplzc5uzx q0.g00.msn.com/g00/2_d3d3Lm1zbi5jb20%3D_/TU9SRVBIRVVTOCRodHRwOi8vaW1nLXMtbXNuLWNvbS5ha2FtYW l6ZWQubmV0L3RlbmFudC9hbXAvZW50aXR5aWQvQUFuNDZTRC5p bWc%2FaD01Njgmdz03MjgmbT02JnE9NjAmbz1mJmw9ZiZ4PTQ4 MSZ5PTE5MiZpMTBjLm1hcmsuaW1hZ2UudHlwZQ%3D%3D_$/$/$/$/$

Gerald Hirschfeld, the man behind the camera for such classic films as Mel Brooks’ Young Frankenstein and Sidney Lumet’s Fail-Safe who was the American Society of Cinematographers’ most senior member, has died. He was 95. The ASC said he died February 13 but gave no other details.

Born on April 25, 1921, in New York City, Hirschfeld was self-taught in his craft — mostly by watching movies. “There were no film schools in those days, so I was always looking for new [photography] books, new information,” he told American Cinematographer magazine in 2007. “By going to the movies, I gradually learned the styles of all the top Hollywood cameramen.” He joined the Army at 19 and served at the Signal Corps Photographic Center during World War II (that’s him on the left). While there, he worked with established Hollywood lensmen including Leo Tover, who would become his mentor.

Hirschfeld’s first of 40-plus film credits was the 1949 crime drama C-Man, but after a few more credits for the big and small screens, he focused on shooting commercials at the NYC production house MPO Videotronics. He would become the busiest cameraman in New York, becoming a vice president at MPO and overseeing a dozen full-time camera crews. His reputation for being a relentless perfectionist earned Hirschfeld his first big feature gig on Lumet’s 1964 Cold War drama Fail-Safe, whose cast included Walter Matthau, Henry Fonda and Larry Hagman.